The do's & don'ts of concept writing

Concept writing is a key exercise that makes it possible to move from a state of reflection about the different components of a product to the value proposition to be presented to the consumer. This is a phase where what has been elaborated on the inside is arranged in order to be seen on the outside. What is the best way of handling this key phase?


Un concept constitue la proposition de valeur à laquelle aboutissent un annonceur et/ou son agence et véhicule donc les messages A concept constitutes the value proposition devised by a product creator and/or its communication team in order to convey the key messages to deliver to the consumer in order to provide them with the clearest possible picture of how the intended benefits of the product will correspond to their own needs. The pitch of the concept or its subsequent variations must aim to be as precisely targeted as possible, in terms of both content and style. It is worth knowing that our insight and concept writing trainingcan help you to become more proficient practitioners of this art.


Who writes the concept?
Depending on the way in which companies operate, the concept is drafted in-house (in the marketing, research or communication department) or by an outside agency (by a copywriter). It is essential to ensure a good collaboration between all of the actors in this value chain (i.e. r&d/innovation, product manager, studies, agency) no matter who is going to draft the concept. Although an agency has a natural disposition to devise effective messages, the in-house advertiser, via its consumer insight management department, has a much clearer outlook of the consumer tensions that need to be addressed

What is the best method to adopt?Whoever is doing the writing, the concept must invariably comply with the following framework constraints:

  • It must not be limited to a summary of the product characteristics, which would reduce the message to a purely functional medium,
  • It is also not to be seen as an advertising pitch.

The scope of artistic freedom must therefore remain within this framework. Testing of the concept (whether qualitative or quantitative) will make it possible to validate the content and style of the value proposition and thus result in a "secure" communication brief, i.e. one in which the key arguments are in tune with real and proven market potential. Surely no-one today can allow themselves an error of judgement in terms of the direction to take? It is not about curbing the creative instincts of the communication agency, but moreover ensuring that it remains in line with a strategy that is pertinent to both the market and the brand.

There are different types of models for drawing up a value proposition of this kind. USP, CBI, disruption, etc. In essence, these models all offer the same perspective, i.e. offering the consumer the possibility of moving away from a current (unsatisfactory) experience to a future (more fulfilling) experience. This experience may be related to the product itself or to the consumer's awareness and understanding of the category (especially when a disruptive approach is used).


To enable a movement of this kind, certain components are absolutely essential:

  • the consumer motivations with regard to the product or service universe (and by extension the associated tensions),
  • the possible benefits of the product or service (and different from its competitors),
  • the brand territory and its proof of superiority.


In more precise terms, the following "ingredients" must always be included in order to guarantee a palatable concept:

  • The consumer insight (see our definition), which will represent a sort of reference situation showing us where the consumer is now (i.e. current experience) and where they would ideally like to be taken to (future desired experience). The gap between these two points constitutes a tension factor. It is this tension which, if it is truly present on the market, amounts to a real breakthrough opportunity (a.k.a. demand space) which the brand must seek to exploit with its product or service offer (see here for more details of our SMT insight drafting method),
  • The product benefits, which must be chosen for their pertinence vis-à-vis the tensions which are to be addressed but also with regard to the competition and to the adveriser's in-house constraints (production, policy…)
  • The reasons to believe (RTB), which provide reassurance as to the capacity of the product to deliver the promised benefits and for the brand to stake a credible claim via its promise. Ultimately therefore, the concept constitutes the story of a dialogue between two characters, a consumer and a brand. Such a dialogue thus implies that the consumer's desires (conveyed by the insights) are truly pertinent and that the benefits promised in response to these desires are coherent with the values that the brand identity wishes to embody.

Concept testing will therefore be focused on validating and optimizing the clarity, pertinence, credibility and attractiveness of this value proposition put into perspective in the form of a dialogue that the creative channels will be able to translate into a story. Striking the right balance between consumer motivations, product benefits and brand credibility is absolutely essential.


Some traps to avoid!

Most of the traps that we have identified with regard to this strategic writing exercise can be considered as "code violations" with regard to the quality of the dialogue to be reproduced. 
Here is a selection of some of these:

  • Zero insights. The main problem here is that consumers and their motivations are totally absent from the process. Instead of dialogue, the brand delivers a monologue and this will clearly be perceived as such during the concept testing. Such a monologue is often seen as being pontificating, too general, often depicting a lifestyle rather than a real tension factor,
  • Off-target insights. The consumer's desires appear to be misrepresented and out-of-touch. The tensions that are supposedly exploited are not those that truly operate on the market. During testing, consumers will reject the pertinence of the "current experience – desired experience" shift that the brand wishes to offer them, especially when, implicitly or explicitly, this shift is already a mapped-out journey (the insight thus being ultimately perceived as a too obvious construction...),
  • Benefits non-aligned with insights. In other words, a dialogue of the deaf… It is highly likely that consumers will question the relevance and also the clarity of the message, and perhaps even query the usefulness of the entire proposition. It must never be forgotten that consumers are presented with a plethora of offers and so already have a wide range of available solutions to cover their needs. Not only do you have to capture their attention, but also you have to make them want to change their habits – an altogether more challenging mission!
  • Benefits that are poorly selected or classified. Any new product or service offer will naturally have several benefits. Selecting the right benefits to promote is obviously a delicate operation, but is of crucial importance, given that it is all about ensuring that your pitch is as clear as possible, that it will stick in consumers' minds and that it will convey the key standout elements that embody the brand's values, 
  • Failure to provide reassurance. Last but not least, it is essential to tie up any loose ends because all brands are operating on territories in which consumers are ceaselessly bombarded with promises and have as a result become wary and mistrustful. Bear in mind that trust is never given; it must be earned. The choice of elements for the RTB is a key exercise since it must be in tune with the type of arguments that the target audience is willing to hear, with the product benefit claims and with the brand's field of legitimacy.

Making a good start

To avoid these traps it is advisable to establish close collaboration between the r&d/innovation department, the product manager, the research department and any outside agencies/consultants used. Once the appropriateness and attractiveness of the positioning conveyed by the concept have been validated and secured, the creative and artistic work can begin in order to deliver a powerful, effective, impactful message to consumers.


Related articles:


    


Drop us a line

CAPTCHA

Bonnes pratiques et pièges dans l'écriture de concepts

Rédaction d'insight
L’écriture de concept est un exercice clé permettant de passer de l’état de réflexion sur les différentes composantes d’un produit à la proposition de valeur à adresser au consommateur. Une étape où ce qui a été élaboré à l'intérieur, doit se voir à l'extérieur. Comment gérer au mieux cette phase ?


Un concept constitue la proposition de valeur à laquelle aboutissent un annonceur et/ou son agence et véhicule donc les messages clés que l’on souhaite adresser au consommateur afin d’obtenir un meilleur éclairage possible entre ses besoins et les bénéfices que le produit va lui apporter. Le discours proposé ou ses variantes doivent s’attacher à viser au plus juste, sur le fond comme sur la forme. Notez que nos formations à l'écriture d'insights et de concepts peuvent vous permettre de monter en compétence sur cette pratique.


Qui rédige ?
Le concept est, selon les modes de travail, rédigé par l’annonceur (au marketing, aux études ou à la communication) ou par son agence (par un copywriter). Une bonne collaboration de l’ensemble des acteurs de cette chaîne de valeur est essentiel (r&d/innovation, chef de produit, études, agence) quel que ce soit le rédacteur. L’agence dispose d’une maîtrise naturelle dans la conception des messages, et l’annonceur via son département consumer insight management dispose d’une réelle mise en perspective des tensions consommateurs à adresser.

Quelle approche méthodologique ?
Quelle que soit le rédacteur, le concept doit invariablement satisfaire le cadre suivant :

  • Il ne se limite pas à un exposé des caractéristiques du produit, ce qui réduirait le message à une expression purement fonctionnelle,
  • Il ne constitue pas encore un argumentaire publicitaire.


C’est donc dans cet espace que se situe la latitude rédactionnelle. Le test de concept (qu’il soit qualitatif ou quantitatif) va permettre de valider le fond et la forme de la proposition de valeur et donc d’aboutir à un brief de communication « sécurisé », c'est-à-dire dont les arguments clés sont bien en prise avec un potentiel marché réel et démontrés. Qui pourrait aujourd'hui se permettre une erreur de trajectoire ? Il ne s’agit pas de brider l’élan créatif de l’agence, mais plutôt de l’inscrire à coup sûr dans une stratégie pertinente vis-à-vis à la fois du marché et de la marque.

Il existe différents types de modèles pour construire une telle proposition de valeur. USP, CBI, disruption, etc. Dans l’esprit, ces modèles répondent plus où à la même perspective, offrir au consommateur la possibilité d’être embarqué d’une expérience actuelle (insatisfaisante), vers une expérience future (qui lui apportera une plus grande satisfaction). Cette expérience peut porter sur le produit lui-même ou sur l’appréhension que le consommateur a de la catégorie elle-même (notamment dans l'approche disruptive).

Pour opérer un tel mouvement, certaines composantes sont indispensables :

  • les motivations du consommateur en lien avec l’univers du produit ou service (et donc les tensions associées),
  • les bénéfices possibles du produit ou service (et différent de la concurrence),
  • le territoire de la marque avec la preuve de sa supériorité.


Plus précisément, on va veiller à articuler les « ingrédients » suivants :

  • L’insight consommateur (voir notre définition de l'insight consommateur), qui va constituer une sorte de situation de référence pour exprimer où en est le consommateur (expérience actuelle), et où souhaiterait-il dans l’idéal être embarqué (expérience souhaitée). Le gap être ces deux points constitue un facteur de tension. C’est cette tension qui, si elle est bien réelle sur le marché constitue l’espace d’opportunités que la marque va pouvoir adresser avec son offre (voire notre méthode rédactionnelle SMT),
  • Les bénéfices produits qui devront être choisis de façon pertinente par rapport aux tensions que l’on souhaiter adresser, mais aussi par rapport à la concurrence et aux contraintes internes de l’annonceur (production, politique…)
  • Les éléments de réassurance (RTB : reason to believe) qui concernent tant les capacités réelles du produit à délivrer les bénéfices annoncés que de la marque à s’inscrire de façon crédible sur cette promesse. Le concept constitue donc finalement l’histoire d’un dialogue entre un consommateur et une marque, « deux personnalités ». Un tel dialogue implique donc bien que : les désirs du consommateur (véhiculés par les insights) soient réellement pertinents, les bénéfices en réponse de ces désirs soient portés par des partis pris en cohérence avec l’identité de la marque.


Le test de concept va donc devoir s’attacher à valider et optimiser la clarté, la pertinence, la crédibilité et l’attractivité de cette proposition de valeur mise en perspective sous la forme d’un dialogue que les pistes créatives pourront traduire en histoire. L’équilibrage entre les motivations consommateurs, les bénéfices produits et le territoire de crédibilité de la marque est donc essentiel.


Quelques pièges !

L’essentiel des pièges que nous avons identifiés dans cet exercice rédactionnel stratégique constitue en fait des « infractions » à la qualité du dialogue mis en scène. 

En voici une sélection :

  • L’omission d’insight. Le consommateur et ses motivations sont alors absents du discours. La marque engage un monologue qui lors des tests sera bien perçu comme tel. Ce monologue est souvent vu comme pontifiant, et trop généraliste, mettant en scène souvent un lifestyle et non une tension réelle,
  • Le choix d’insights avec peu de prise à la réalité. Les désirs du consommateur apparaissent travestis et en décalage avec la réalité. Les tensions supposément exploitées ne sont pas celles qui opèrent sur le marché. Lors des tests, les consommateurs rejetteront la pertinence de la trajectoire « expérience vécue – expérience souhaitée » vers laquelle la marque propose de les embarquer, notamment lorsqu’implicitement ou explicitement cette trajectoire est déjà une réponse (l'insight apparaît donc comme une construction a posteriori trop évidente...),
  • Des bénéfices mal articlés avec les insights. En d’autres termes un dialogue de sourd… C’est à la fois la pertinence mais aussi la carté du discours que les consommateurs vont mettre en cause, voire même l’utilité de la proposition. Il ne faut pas oublier que la plupart du temps, l’offre est pléthorique et le consommateur a déjà des solutions disponibles pour couvrir ses besoins. Non seulement il faut l’embarquer, mais surtout il faut lui donner envie de changer ses habitudes, ce qui est une démarche nettement plus difficile !
  • Des bénéfices mal hiérarchisés ou sélectionnés. Toute offre a naturellement plusieurs bénéfices. Sélectionner des bénéfices est naturellement un renoncement difficile, mais qui est néanmoins le garant de la clarté du discours, de sa mémorisation mais aussi des éléments clés de différentiation qui incarnent les partis pris de la marque, 
  • Des éléments de réassurance non ou mal pris en compte. Le « verrouillage » du discours est essentiel car les marques opèrent sur des territoires où les consommateurs, saturés de promesses peuvent être en défiance et où la confiance doit continuer de se cultiver. Le choix des éléments de RTB est clé car il doit être en résonnance avec le type d’arguments que la cible concernée peut entendre, les bénéfices produits annoncés et le territoire de légitimité de la marque.


Pour bien commencer

Pour éviter ces pièges il convient de mettre en place une collaboration très étroite entre r&d/innovation, chef de produit, direction des études, et agence/société d'études. C’est lorsque la validité et l’attractivité du positionnement véhiculé par le concept sont sécurisés que l’expression créative et artistique va permettre de donner toute sa puissance au discours au travers d'une communication impactante.


    


Insightquest

39 rue Gazan
75014 Paris 
France
Tél: +33 1 77 11 13 56