Marketing & Communication Briefs: precision is your ally

The Marketing Brief, along with the Communication Brief, are essential tools for creative teamwork, from the initial design stage right through to communication to the target audience. 
Briefs are therefore media that deserve your fullest attention, both for in-house purposes and for your relations with outside agencies and consultancies. 
The utmost precision with regard to the insight and your target population is a determining factor.

In what context are Briefs used?

Marketing Briefs and Communication Briefs are key tools when launching a new product or service offer. Forming part of the essential "logbook" of your project, these documents make it possible to ensure step-by-step coherence with the different players who contribute to the launch. Certain companies have one single document which accompanies the entire project while others have separate, specific documents for Marketing and for Communication. This may depend upon the size of the company, its internal organization but also on the kind of relations that it has with its outside agencies.

The Marketing Brief makes it possible to align the different in-house contributors to your new product or service, from initial R&D right through to pre-launch Communication. The Brief may be amended as the project progresses, if the situation changes or the technical feasibility of the project evolves. In all cases however, the Marketing Brief must provide a clear record of the purpose of your project and the solution that it proposes. 

The Communication Brief on the other hand comes into play towards the end of the process, once the feasibility of project has been clearly stabilized and your product or service offer is ready for launch. This document is primarily intended for your communication agency in order to provide them with the key information that they will require to produce impactful creative ideas for your communication media (print, films, banners, posters, etc…).

Show me your Brief, I will tell you how you work…

Whether we are talking about a Marketing Brief or a Communication Brief, this document speaks volumes about the stage of maturity of your thought processes. The more it is specific about the targets, the insights, the benefits, features, characteristics and elements of proof, the more it will clearly convey the messages that you wish to get across and enable the different contributors to have a more in-depth awareness of the ins & outs of your project.
However precise and specific your briefs may be, there is always room for new suggestions. Such flexibility will depend to a greater extent on your project management mode than the efforts you will have made to make your brief as precise as possible. In other words, be precise, but remain agile, or, to put it another way, a fuzzy brief is by no means the proof of an open and agile approach! Even when using the Design Thinking approach, with a series of iterations, it is important to be as precise as possible about each iteration. Indeed, it is essential that your brief will enable each new contributor to your project to understand exactly where and how you stand.


The role of insights within the Brief

The insight is a key element of a Marketing Brief because it determines the purpose of your product or service offer. It is important to remember that this insight will not be limited to a simple need (since not every need requires a new response). The insight must be as precise and specific as possible, a clear statement of your awareness and understanding of the consumer stakes. We recommend the use of our SMT method for drafting your insight; this method is sufficiently precise to avoid any misunderstanding or misinterpretation which could hinder the progress of your project. This marketing insight is not intended to be a creative work of art; it is moreover a shrewd analysis of a current reality or market trend. The time for creativity will come with the response that you will fashion for this insight in the form of an inspiring value proposition.
Mention of "insight" inevitably evokes the notion of target, given that the insight is the evocation of a consumer stake that is inextricably linked to one or several targets. This is why it is so important to be as precise as possible with regard to your targets and their respective insights.
Your value proposition: the benefits, advantages, characteristics and proof of what your solution has to offer in response to these insights.
Special care must also be taken to avoid drafting "made-up" insights, which would only serve to artificially legitimize the purpose of your product or service offer. The insight must be true, in tune with reality and closely linked to your value proposition.
The brief will of course contain a certain amount of other information, especially in the part devoted to communication (channels, media, budget, etc…). However, always bear in mind that your targets and your insight constitute the fundamental basis of a sound value proposition.


The balance of power and influence with the agency

As far as your communication brief is concerned, the degree of precision, or lack of it, will have a key impact on how your offer is received by the market. A highly precise brief indicates to the agency that your marketing thought processes have been very thorough. The more your views and choices are substantiated by actual facts (e.g. sources of your market data…) the greater your scope of impact when discussing your project with your agency. On the other hand, the more your brief is vague and imprecise, the more the agency will have to fabricate its own version of your value proposition. The precision of your brief thus plays a crucial role in the balance of power with your communication agency.
The fundamental question posed by this balance of power is as follows: will the design team come up with a solution in line with the brand's product strategy?
The more your brief is "woolly" and unclear, the more your agency will have to compensate for the lack of information with its own data and its own inspiration (in terms of consumer needs, the target audience or the product benefits). What guarantee will you thus have vis-à-vis the soundness of your value proposition? There is a real danger here of missing out on the genuine market opportunities owing to the fact that your value proposition has been replaced by a vision inspired by advertising-oriented creative thinking.
The more precise your brief, the more the creative processes can be channelled. This does not however imply that creativity will be curbed: once again, it all depends on the advertiser's attentiveness and the pertinence of the creative lines that are provided. With a precise brief you will have a clear message that your communication people will be able to make more impactful by means of an inspired creative approach.


Clarify your targets and insights at the earliest opportunity

Certain advertisers rely on their communication agencies to deal with certain issues that need to be resolved at the very earliest stages of the project, e.g. consumer insights, target identification and sometimes even the wording of the value proposition. More often than not however, the agency's work comes in the latter phases of the project, at the moment where there is little time remaining to form deep-seated convictions, which require a certain sense of detachment. The agency thus finds itself in a sticky situation, having to urgently deal with marketing conception issues as well as advertising creativity issues. And all of this within a particularly tight schedule, with no control whatsoever over the initial challenges and stakes of the launch.
 
The advertiser must therefore ensure, right from the outset, when drawing up the roadmap and drafting the marketing brief, that they clarify their targets and insights. These key elements constitute the raison d’être of the new offer, from a market point of view. Of course, certain adjustments may be made once the project is ongoing, but the vast majority of the necessary groundwork on the fundamental issues will have been done, so that when the time comes to deliver the communication brief, the agency will have at its disposal all the parameters it requires to focus its creative efforts on the company strategy and the product.

    


Nous écrire

CAPTCHA

Brief Marketing et Communication: la précision est votre alliée

Le Brief Marketing, comme le Brief de Communication constituent des outils essentiels au travail en équipe : de la conception d’une offre jusqu’à sa communication auprès de ses cibles. 
Un support qui mérite toute votre attention à la fois en interne et dans votre relation aux agences. 
Votre précision sur l’insight ainsi que la cible y est déterminante.

Le contexte des Briefs

Le Brief Marketing comme le Brief de Communication sont des outils clé du lancement d’une offre ou d’un produit. Véritable « Carte Vitale » de votre projet, ils permettent d’en assurer la cohérence étape après étape auprès des différents publics qui contribuent au lancement.  Certaines entreprises disposent d’un document uniquement qui accompagne l’ensemble du projet, d’autre de documents spécifiques pour le Marketing et la Communication. Cela peut dépendre à la fois de la taille de l’entreprise, de son organisation interne mais aussi de son mode de relation avec des agences.

Le Brief Marketing permet d’aligner différents publics internes qui contribuent à la conception de votre offre ou de votre produit, de l’équipe R&D en amont jusqu’à l’équipe Communication. Ce Brief peut évoluer en cour de projet si l’actualité ou la faisabilité technique de votre solution est amenée à évoluer. Mais, à chaque étape, il doit tracer clairement la raison d’être de votre projet et la solution proposée. 

Le Brief de Communication va lui intervenir plutôt en fin de processus, dès lors que la faisabilité de votre projet s’est stabilisée et que votre offre ou votre produit sont prêts à être lancés. Il est essentiellement destiné à votre agence de communication afin de lui transmettre les informations clés lui permettant de vous proposer des pistes créatives impactantes pour vos supports de communications (print, films, bannières, affiches, etc…).

Donne-moi ton Brief, je te dirai comment tu travailles…

Qu’il s’agisse du Brief Marketing ou du Brief de Communication, ce document en dit long sur la maturité de votre réflexion. Plus il est précis sur les cibles, les insights, les bénéfices, avantages, caractéristiques et éléments de preuve, plus il traduit l’aboutissement de votre réflexion, et permet donc aux équipes travaillant avec vous de mieux cerner les contours de votre projet.

Bien évidemment, la précision de vos briefs ne limite en rien la capacité de vos interlocuteurs à vous faire part de nouvelles suggestions. Cette flexibilité tient plus à votre mode de management de projet qu’à l’effort que vous aurez déployé pour être précis dans votre brief. En d’autres termes, vous pouvez rester agile tout en étant précis, ou pour le dire autrement, le côté « flou » de votre brief n’est en rien garant de l’ouverture ou de l’agilité de votre approche ! Même dans le cadre d’une approche Design Thinking impliquant différentes itérations, restez précis à chacune des itérations. Votre brief doit permettre à tout nouvel intervenant sur votre projet que comprendre vos partis pris.

Le rôle de l’insight dans le Brief

Dans le Brief Marketing, l’insight est un élément clé car il détermine la raison d’être de votre offre ou de votre produit. Attention, cet insight ne se limite pas à un besoin (tout besoin n’attend pas une nouvelle réponse). Cet insight doit être le plus précis possible, comme l’aboutissement de votre compréhension de l’enjeu consommateur. Nous vous recommandons d’utiliser la méthode SMT pour rédiger votre insight, elle est suffisamment précise pour éviter les quiproquo ou erreurs d’interprétation qui pourraient retarder votre projet. Cet insight marketing n’est pas « créatif », il est perspicace quant à une réalité ou une tendance marché. La créativité relève de la réponse que vous allez apporter à cet insight par une proposition de valeur inspirante.

Qui dit « insight » évoque inévitablement la notion de cible, cet insight étant l’évocation d’un enjeu consommateur qui se rattache inévitablement à une ou plusieurs cibles. Soyez donc à la fois précis sur vos cibles et leurs insights respectifs.

Votre proposition de valeur : les bénéfices, avantages, caractéristiques et preuve de votre offre interviennent donc comme des réponses à ces insights.
Notez d’ailleurs la vigilance dont vous devez faire preuve pour éviter de rédiger a posteriori des insights « fantasmés » qui auraient pour objectif de légitimer artificiellement la raison d’être de votre offre. L’insight doit être vrai, en prise avec le réel et il doit bien s’articuler avec votre proposition de valeur.

Bien sûr, le brief va comporter de nombreuses autres informations, notamment dans sa partie communication (canaux, supports, budget, etc…). Mais gardez à l’esprit que les cibles et l’insight constituent les fondations de base sur lesquelles reposent la solidité de votre proposition de valeur.

Un rapport de force ou d’influence avec l’agence.

Notamment lorsqu’il s’agit du brief de communication, sa précision ou son imprécision aura un impact clé sur l’accueil de votre offre par le marché. Un brief très précis démontre à l’agence que votre réflexion marketing est aboutie. Plus vos partis pris y sont étayés (sources de vos données de contexte marchés, etc…) plus vous disposez d’impact quand vous discutez avec votre agence. Plus votre brief est lapidaire, plus l’agence va devoir se forger sa propre « version » de votre proposition de valeur. La précision de votre brief est au centre d’un rapport de force.

La question de fond que pose ce rapport de force est la suivante : la créa servira-t-elle au mieux la stratégie produit de la marque ?

Plus le brief est flou, plus l’agence devra combler le manque d’informations avec ses propres données et sa propre inspiration (qu’il s’agisse du besoin consommateur, de la cible ou des bénéfices produits). Quelle garantie aura-t-on alors sur la solidité réelle de la proposition de valeur ? Le risque est alors de s’éloigner des territoires d’opportunité réels du marché, qui auraient été substitués par une vision essentiellement conduite par l’inspiration créative publicitaire.


Plus le brief est précis, plus cette créativité sera canalisée. Cela ne signifie pas nécessairement qu’elle sera bridée : encore une fois cela dépend de la capacité d’écoute de l’annonceur et de la pertinence des pistes créatives qui seront fournies. Avec un brief précis vous disposez d’un message clair que la communication va pouvoir rendre impactant avec une approche créative inspirée.

Clarifier les cibles et les insights le plus en amont possible

Certains annonceurs se reposent sur leurs agences pour résoudre parfois des questions qui relèvent de l’amont du projet : les insights consommateurs, les cibles, voire l’articulation de la proposition de valeur. Or, l’agence intervient souvent dans les dernières phases du projet, au moment où il reste très peu de temps pour se forger des convictions de fond, qui nécessitent une prise de recul. L’agence se retrouve alors acculée dans l’urgence à résoudre à la fois des questions de conception marketing et des questions créativité publicitaire. Elle ce, dans des délais particulièrement serrés, sans pour autant pouvoir maîtriser les enjeux initiaux du lancement.
 
L’annonceur devra donc s’attacher dès sa roadmap, lors du brief marketing à clarifier les cibles et les insights. C’est la raison d’être de son offre, du point de vue du marché. Bien sûr des ajustements pourront se faire en cour de projet, mais l’essentiel du défrichage nécessaire sur ces questions de fond devra être amorcé en amont, afin qu’au moment du brief de communication, l’agence puisse disposer de tous les paramètres lui permettant d’axer ses efforts créatifs au service de la stratégie de l’entreprise et du produit.


    

Insightquest

39 rue Gazan
75014 Paris 
France
Tél: +33 1 77 11 13 56