Focus Groups

Objectives of focus groups

Focus groups provide an opportunity to bring people together in order to allow them to express their personal thoughts on different topics within a group context. The key benefit of constituting a group is to bring to light areas of consensus or indeed dissent or segmentation with regard to attitudes to a given issue.
Themes that can be explored are many and varied: exploring the needs of a target audience, in-depth analysis of value propositions (concept, product, packaging), brand image and the associated emotional registers, consumption habits or activation elements.
Target profiles can be either B2C or B2B, i.e. consumers, experts, professionals, etc…. it all depends on the subject in question.
.

Setting up focus groups

Several design formats can be considered, according to your objectives and the topics that you wish to explore:

1/ Focus groups of 6 to 8 participants: an ideal format for scratching the surface, digging deeper, validating and optimizing what is on the table. The group dynamics make this an extremely worthwhile experience because everyone is free to respond to each other's comments and reactions, making it possible to look more closely at rational issues but also to explore what is more in the realms of the imagination,
2/ Quads (groups of 4): a more agile configuration that is ideal for fostering iteration. The participants in the study are thus broken down into several quads so as to enable optimal iteration between these sub-groups.  The aim is to make improvements to the material being tested by means of "Test & Learn", a method that forms the basis of our Design Sprint approach.
3/ Alternation of collective and individual dynamics may have an important impact in certain cases in order to isolate the opinion of each participant and to neutralize the mechanisms of influence. Individual awareness and understanding may be brought to light by the use of specific tools such as a one-to-one interview before the group activity, a personal questionnaire or pre/post tasks,
4/ A group may bring together several different profiles according to your objectives: consumers, non-consumers, ex-consumers, experts, professionals, creative consumers or people with different lifestyles, personalities or specific motivations. 

Drop us a line

CAPTCHA

Focus Groups

Objectif des focus groups

Les focus groups consistent à réunir de participants qui sont conduits à s’exprimer individuellement mais dans le cadre d’une discussion de groupe sur différentes thématiques qui leur sont soumises L’intérêt d’une approche par groupe est de faire jouer une dynamique qui permet de faire émerger des zones de consensus ou au contraire des zones de dissension ou de segmentation dans les attitudes sur une problématique donnée.
Les thématiques que l’on peut y aborder sont nombreuses : explorer les besoins d’une cible, creuser en profondeur des propositions de valeur (concept, produit, packaging), l’image d’une marque et les registres émotionnels qui lui sont liés, des habitudes de consommation ou des éléments d’activation.
Les profils ciblés peuvent eux-mêmes être B2C ou B2B : consommateurs, experts, professionnels, etc. tout dépend donc de la problématique.

Mise en œuvre des focus groupes

Il existe plusieurs designs en fonction de vos objectifs et de ce que vous souhaitez creuser :
1/ Les focus groups qui réunissent 6 à 8 personnes : une configuration idéale pour creuser, valider et optimiser. Une dynamique collective riche car elle permet à chacun de rebondir sur les réactions des autres, permettant d'approfondir le rationnel mais également l’imaginaire,
2/ Les quads (qui réunissent 4 personnes) : une configuration plus agile qui est idéale pour favoriser l’itération. L’allocation des ressources de l’étude est donc fractionnée en plusieurs quads pour permettre des itérations entre ces quads.  Il s’agit donc de faire évoluer le matériel testé grâce à un processus de « Test & Learn , une configuration que nous utilisons dans le cadre de nos Sprints.
3/ L’alternance de dynamiques collectives et individuelles peut être importante dans certains cas à mettre en place pour isoler l’avis de chaque participant et neutraliser les mécaniques d’influence. La compréhension individuelle peut se matérialiser au travers d’outils différents comme l’entretien individuel en amont d’un groupe, le questionnaire individuel, ou encore des tâches préparatoires ou post groupe (pre et post tasks),
4/ Un groupe peut réunir des profils différents en fonction de votre objectif : consommateurs, non consommateurs, abandonnistes, experts, professionnels, consommateurs créatifs, ou des typologies ayant des styles de vie, personnalités et motivations spécifiques. 

Nous écrire

CAPTCHA